Connexion rapide:  

Forum: General Discussion

Sujet Same club.. too long?

Ce topic est ancien et peut contenir des informations obselètes ou incorrectes.

i have been djing at home for around 3-4 years, i got my first dj gig about 18months ago - playing every thursday/friday/saturday since then. on on average i play 6-8 hour sets.

do you think theres such a thing as being at one place too long? ive noticed crowd numbers are going down hill and i dont think its purely my fault - but i do feel like its partly my bad - maybe getting too predictable. i've learned soo much and have improved over the 18 months. but starting to lose confidence, even though i've improved technique and song choice etc.

ive been approached by a new club, yet to open, so maybe the change will bring my confidence back? i love my job - i cant believe this is what i get paid to do! but when the patrons arent comming back it hits the ego!

i would like to find out from other resident djs (or experienced djs) and how you combat that loss of confidence, performing weekend after weekend (maybe i should take a weekend off!). would like to hear your stories!

Posté Mon 06 Aug 07 @ 4:25 am
Keep things interesting within the Club boundries.

Try playing some older - less heard mixes, or one-hit wonders

Remember these songs were wildly popular for a reason

Posté Mon 06 Aug 07 @ 4:55 am
Boy, there are so many variables. I've been entertaining people and making a living at it for 30 years....as a musician, KJ and the last 5 years as a VJ/DJ/KJ. I've work clubs for as little as a 2 weeks and as long as 3.5 years. This month is my 3 year anniversary at the club I'm working at now. I still have a hard time dealing with slow nights even though I know it may be a slow time of the year or maybe the weather or fair or some event.