Connexion rapide:  

Forum: Old versions

Sujet Video card problems.

Ce topic est ancien et peut contenir des informations obselètes ou incorrectes.

tygar2PRO InfinityMember since 2008
Hello

I am new to virtual dj and need your help. My plan is to have a stable video dj setup via a laptop but am not sure what laptop spec to get so am doing my experimentation via my desktop pc.

I read here about the need for a good graphics card so I went and bought an Invidia GeForce 7300GT DDR2 AGP card with VGA, DVI-I & s-video output. The card is connected via AGP.

The problem I am having is that frequently during video playback, particularly when mixing (using hercules mk2), I get distorted video colours and colour loss in the mix. I am getting this green flicker which almost totally conceals the video image. Does anyone have a solution?
I have read here how 256mb cards seem to suffice so am confused why a 512mb card (granted that its AGP) appears to be struggling (thats what I think is happening). I have fiddled with the card settings but it does not seem to help.

Any advise would be appreciated as I need to work out my laptop spec asap.

Posté Wed 23 Jan 08 @ 10:51 am
GaryBrPRO InfinityMember since 2006
Hi, normally when people have reported green distortion in previous posts, the advice has been to update the driver.

Gary

Posté Wed 23 Jan 08 @ 2:09 pm
Hello

I managed to sort it. As discussed in another forum I downloaded XP Codec Pack,made it my Windows Media Player codec and this solved my problem!

Just one more question on graphics cards,what size card do I need to run video mixes on a laptop. I am planning to buy a dell xps and am torn between two systems,do I really need a 512mb graphics card? There is a bit of a price diffference.The specs are below

System one:

Intel® Core™ 2 Duo processor T7200 (2.00 GHz, 667 MHz FSB, 4 MB L2-cache)
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium - English
17.0" UltraSharp™ Wide Screen WUXGA (1920x1200) TFT Display with TrueLife™