Connexion rapide:  

Forum: General Discussion

Sujet XP10 (again...) - Page: 1

Cette partie de ce topic est ancien et peut contenir des informations obselètes ou incorrectes

tunicPRO InfinityMember since 2004
Hi guys,

I've been reading everything with great interest over the past couple of months regarding people's views, issues and experience with VDJ etc.

I bought some time ago the Hercules DJ console and whilst it is, I got quite frustrated by some of its limitations quite quickly. Its great for simple mixes and what have you but I found the digital nature of the mixing and the poor cross-fade curve to sound a bit naff. (note: I am new to DJing but have been an ardent clubber for quite a few years), I started off mixing trance so the mixer issues weren't to much of a problem because I just left the cross fader in the middle and simply used the channel volumes and EQs to mix.

I then progressed to buying and external 3 channel mixer which is great because it feels a lot more responsive and although trickier to get sounding good, I think has better EQ seperation and obviously there is no noticable latency. (also for the record, very soon after I bought the Herc I upgraded to VDJ2.x).

Anyway, I now at that point that I want to move things along further. I have plenty of room for improving my DJ skills with the current tool set but I think I want a more hands on feel because things like the unresponsiveness of the start buttons on the Herc are a pain in the behind and sort of ruin the fun a little.

So then it now comes down to the whole TCV vs XP10 blah blah issue. I have never DJ'ed on viynl, and only very badly on CD decks up until now (not too good at BPM matching at the moment!), however, idealy I'd like to master both (and learn another language, learn to play the piano, run the London Marathon etc. etc.). Alas, I keep toying between the two.