Connexion rapide:  

Forum: Music discussion

Sujet New to VDJ & Mixing, Hercules RMX ... Advice?

Ce topic est ancien et peut contenir des informations obselètes ou incorrectes.

spadeyPRO InfinityMember since 2010
Hi everyone!

I've been DJing for a few years now on internet stations and having a lot of fun with it using the SAM Broadcaster. It is very limited in what it can do in terms seamless mixes, and is ok if you're more of a playlist/radio style DJ however I decided to take the plunge and migrate to VDJ, and move to the next level. From everything I read, while the software alone is full featured in terms of mixing, the use of a controller seems essential, so I got myself a Hercules RMX (hope I made a good choice.) The limited edition of VDJ it comes with seemed ok but after using the trial of Pro I decided that's what I wanted. Hope all of this wasn't overkill for someone completely new to this craft.

Anyway, I want to start using this in production (internet DJing) as soon as I can. I probably have several weeks of learning before I'd be comfortable, so I was wondering outside of crazy custom effects and essentially making the music your own/unique, what are some of the core essentials to learn/master in order to make a seemless mix from one song to the other? Are there any good tutorials/videos for absolute beginners on the RMX, and also, is there some sort of easier style of music to practice on as a newbie rather than trying to use my enormous eclectic library?

Any advice, recommendations, etc. would be appreciated. I have been "playing around" a lot, and I love the feel of physical controls over what I am used to. Hope I made a good choice with VDJ Pro and the Hercules for just starting out. I look forward to learning more in these forums overtime. Seems like a great DJ community!

Kind Regards,

spadey

Posté Sat 09 Oct 10 @ 2:10 pm