Connexion rapide:  

Forum: Music discussion

Sujet Newbie here. Need all your wisdom and knowledge.

Ce topic est ancien et peut contenir des informations obselètes ou incorrectes.

There is a similar topic I found, but I need a little more ' guidance'.

I am very interested in learning to mix, software etc. I've created some tracks before, and loved doing it. I showed some of my stuff to my friends, family, college dean, professors--and they seemed to think there was potential. I think I might want to go to the next level and put some of my music in the public ( soundcloud, facebook, other social networks etc.) to test my abilities, create some sort of following etc.

The tracks I made were on a very juvenile ' music maker' product I purchased years ago. Its not enough for what I want to do now. I'm sure those of you would agree.

I want to take my music to the next level. I'm a little ( very) new at this, basically starting from scratch.

I'm a music major on a budget, so nothing too steep. If I figure out this sort of 'thing' isn't meant for me, I don't want to have invested too much into it.

So, where do I start? What advice would you give? Any videos would be good for learning, tutorials--small programs that give big sound?
What kinds of programs are there that are inexpensive, user-friendly, and good for someone like me--a beginner?

Please, and thank you.

Posté Sun 10 Feb 13 @ 7:47 pm
Your post is slightly confusing.

You say "learning to mix", which (considering this is a DJ forum) means blending together fully finished and commercially released songs, and playing them via DJ equipment, usually in a live environment to an appreciative audience.

Then you mention "creating" tracks, and that you're a music major.........which makes me think you're looking for music production software (i.e. a DAW) not DJ mixing software - in which case this is the wrong forum!

If you want to be a DJ then indeed the Virtual DJ software is a good place to start.