Connexion rapide:  

Forum: Old versions

Sujet Time to upgrade...

Ce topic est ancien et peut contenir des informations obselètes ou incorrectes.

I've taken up DJ-ing as a hobby this summer (I've done 3 gigs since, and surprisingly have gotten nice crowd reactions). Background: I started out by purchasing the Hercules RMX controller to use with my new Toshiba laptop (running Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit OS, 2MB of RAM ) on which I loaded VirtualDJ software (now upgraded to version 5.2.1). I want to now expand my hardware capabilities and start mixing/scratching on actual CDs. I've researched the setup, conferred with other DJs, and I'm 98% sure I'm going to purchase a pair of Pioneer CDJ-1000MK3 CD/MP3 players and a Pioneer DJM-800 mixer. A couple of questions, one design related, the other technical (since I'm still a newbie lol):

Design: The Pioneer DJM-800 is a 4 channel mixer, I know I'll use the MK3s as CD players on channels 1 & 2, but will I be able to connect my laptop to the mixer and use channels 3 & 4 of the mixer to play my VirtualDJ library of MP3 music, mixing/scratching the songs using the MK3s? I envision going from a CD playing on channel one, to mixing in an MP3 track on channel 4, (controlling it with the 2nd MK3) then mixing in another MP3 track on channel 3, (controlling it with the 1st MK3) then mixing in a CD on channel 2. Is this doable? I've seen a DJ in a club recently using a pair of Pioneer CD players, a laptop, AND a pair of Technics 1200 turntables. So I'm assuming his mixer was at least a 6 channel unit? Sorry, I digressed there for a moment. lol